





TUCKABATCHEE MASONIC LODGE

(Continued from other side)

After being included in the Alabama Historic Commission's "Places in Peril" publication in 2012, the owner of the building agreed to allow the building and property to serve as a county recreation facility. The restoration project began in late 2013. Spearheaded by the Russell County Commission, a committee of local citizens and the members of the Crawford Masonic Lodge No. 863, many volunteers and local contractors also helped in the restoration project. Donations were made by the community to aid in the restoration efforts and brick pavers were purchased and placed on the front walkway to show the community's dedication and support for the project. In 2015, prior to opening the doors to the public, the downstairs was restored for use as a community center and the upstairs was restored and designated as a museum to pay tribute to the original intended use as a sacred Masonic Lodge. This historic building was added to the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage on September 6, 1978.

> ERECTED BY THE HISTORIC CHATTAHOOCHEE COMMISSION. RUSSELL COUNTY CONVENTION & VISITORS BUREAU. AND RUSSELL COUNTY COMMISSION

Tuckabatchee Lodge Restoration

It Is With Great Honor That We Dedicate The Restoration Of This Historic Building In Memory Of

Menza M. "Red"Dudley 1911-1980

Russell County Commissioner 1956 - 1972 Born and Raised in Crawford, Alabama Farmer, Business Owner and Land Developer Member of Crawford Baptist Church Devoted Family Man with a High Sense of Integrity

CHANCE D. CORBETT RUSSELL COUNTY COMMISSIONER/PROJECT CHAIR

RUSSELL COUNTY COMMISSION

PEGGY MARTIN - CHAIR - DISTRICT 3 CATTIE EPPS - VICE CHAIR - DISTRICT 5 **GENTRY LEE - DISTRICT 1 TILLMAN PUGH - DISTRICT 2 RONNIE REED - DISTRICT 4 CHANCE D. CORBETT - DISTRICT 6 LARRY SCREWS - DISTRICT 7 LEANN HORNE - COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR** VICKIE PERRY - ASSISTANT COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

CRAWFORD PARK COMMITTEE

CHANCE D. CORBETT - CHAIR

JO ANN LANEY

DEE CANTRELL JERRY CHARLES **BUSTER SANDERS**

DEANIE PEARCY ROSIE GARY

TINA PARKMAN DEBBIE BOSWELL

GLORIA ELLIS JEANNIE JENKINS

THE COMMUNITY







